The Day – Local Roundup: Mitchell and Avery Point Baseball Teams Win Tournament Titles


Henniker, NH — Mitchell College eliminated New England College twice on Sunday and won the New England Collegiate Conference baseball tournament.

2 Mitchell (30-11) won 5-3 to force a deciding game and won it 10-3 to earn an automatic NCAA Division III Tournament bid and secure his eighth conference title, sixth under trainer Travis Beausoleil.

The Mariners were leading 6-3 in the title game when former Montville star Dougie DelaCruz hit a three-run homer in the bottom of the seventh and Matt Falk added an RBI single for the final margin. Former East Lyme star Owen Robbins had a two-run home run and an RBI single and New London’s Lelo Martinez had a two-run single. Ryan Solimine threw seven good innings for the win.

In Game 1, Waterford’s Dan Driscoll (6-0) allowed three runs in 8.1 innings for the win with eight strikeouts and one walk. Montville’s Kenny Heon retired both batters he faced for his second save. Martinez hit a two-run homer, Bo Yaworski hit an RBI double and Robbins an RBI single. Driscoll, Yaworski and Solimine were selected to the All-Tournament Team.

In other games:

• Avery Point beat Monroe Community College 15-4 to win the NJCAA Div. II best of three sub-district series 2-0. The Pointers (22-11-1) scored four runs in the top of the sixth and seven in the eighth to put the game away.

Javon Hernandez hit for the cycle. He was 5 for 6 with two doubles, a triple and a home run and eight RBIs. Jaden Echevarria was 2 for 6 and NFA graduate Dominic Morabito scored three. Keegan Daigle (6-2) picked up the win, allowing three hits and an unearned run in six innings with eight strikeouts and two walks.

The Pointers advance to the District Tournament, which begins Friday at the Region 15 champion. Hernandez’s cycle was the first for the Pointers since Josh Yuhas in 1998.

HS female crew

• The East Lyme eighth-placed finished second in the six-team Mahoney Cup at Glastonbury. The Vikings finished behind the hosts and were followed by Hotchkiss, Hingham (Mass.), Stonington and Farmington. East Lyme’s boat was helmsman Mikayla Stahl, racing Simone Cappon, Jennie Sherwood, Fiona Samuelson, Sandra Kirvelevicius, Anna Brown, Kristia King, Gabby Gottschall and bow Ava Mauri.

East Lyme’s 2nd boat won the five-team race and the Novice team won their five-team race by an impressive 11 seconds over Glastonbury.

HS Boys Crew

• Stonington University team finished second in the six-team Mahoney Cup at Glastonbury. Hingham (Mass.) won the race, Farmington finished third followed by Hotchkiss, East Lyme and Glastonbury. East Lyme came fourth in the varsity four race and won the novice race.

Girls Lacrosse HS

• Griswold snapped a nine-game losing streak with a 15-7 victory over St. Bernard in an Eastern Connecticut Division III game on Saturday. Emily Aviles and Kuranda Ruggiero scored five goals each and Alexis Emanuele made five saves for the Wolverines (3-9, 3-5), who avenged a 13-9 loss to the Saints on April 21.

HS Boys Lacrosse

• Ledyard/Griswold lost to Law in a non-league game on Saturday 19-9. Roman Rich had five goals and two assists, Cameron Reynolds had two goals, Patrick Sully and Tyler Kazlauskas each had goals and Nick Johanson and Cortland Ruggiero had assists for Ledyard (2-9).

Benefit Hockey

• The ice hockey game for the benefit of the Ukrainian people will take place on May 14 at the Rose Garden Ice Arena in Norwich, starting at 7:30 pm A donation of $10 is suggested.

youth football

• Stonington Soccer Club’s U14 women’s team, which won the Connecticut Cup championship last November, will compete in the US Youth Soccer Eastern Presidents Cup from June 17-21 in Barboursville, West Virginia. Stonington beat Norwalk 1-0 in overtime for the state title.

The team members are Rebecca Bartinik, Ella Cochran, Leah Deperry, Quinn Higginbotham, Kate Holveck, Gianna Kennedy, Morgan Kuhn, Lily Loughlean, Kinsley Mansfield, Finn O’Keefe, Gwendolyn McGugan, Adilyn Risley, Payton Stone, Gianna Terranova , Camryn Williamson and Mason Zagol.


About Author

Comments are closed.